Merchant Services
SecurityMetrics for PCI Compliance, QSA, IDS, Penetration Testing, Forensics, and Vulnerability Assessment



Like us on Facebook Music Treasures
Get our Specials Elist!
 
Home > Music Media > Music Books > Music Reference
 
Sonic Cool The Life and Death of Rock and Roll
To Order
Price:  $12.50

Sales are final for products purchased from our Clearance department . Quantities ordered are not guaranteed nor are refunds given.

Add to Cart
 
This item is discontinued.
There are 1 remaining.


Details
Shipping
Reviews
SKU #802095

In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine myth in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce, opinionated and hilarious, Joe Harrington masterfully presents rock as a movement of near-religious proportions, against a backdrop of social factors and important events such as the invention of the guitar, the jukebox, LSD, the 12-inch phonograph record, the &#3970s recession, the Reagan Revolution, and the Internet. This is the history of rock as it&#39s never been told, as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had meaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its soul. Radically egalitarian in its assessments towering figures such as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain stand along side lesser-known but equally influential artists like the MC5, the Misfits and Joy Division Sonic Cool is gripping reading for anyone who ever believed in the music. Includes a 16-page black-and-white photo insert. Joe S. Harrington began writing at the age of 10, an act that provoked a rejection slip from Mad magazine. He has written about music for the Boston Globe, Boston Phoenix, New York Press, Seattle Stranger, Lowell Sun, Wired, Reflex, Raygun, High Times, Seconds, Rollerderby and numerous fanzines. He is currently employed as an on-line jazz critic at Amazon, and lives in Portland, Maine. Softcover.
Standard shipping options apply.
Your total order must be $25 dollars or more to qualify for this clearance price.
Sales are final for products purchased from our Clearance department .
Quantities ordered are not guaranteed nor are refunds given.
No customer reviews written for this product yet.